Doherty and Corry - National Aquathlon Champions 2017


Doherty and Corry Aquathlon Champions 2017

Con Doherty and Niamh Corry won the national titles for aquathlon at last weekend's championships in Coosan Point, near Athlone.

Each claimed their titles in contrasting circumstances, with Doherty leading from the front throughout the race and Corry holding out against her rivals for an exciting victory in a very close race.


Men's Race

In the men's race, Westport TC's Con Doherty status as the overwhelming pre-race favourite was confirmed from the outset, as the 22 year old was first out of the water from the 1,000m swim in 12mins 38secs.

At this point, Doherty had more than a minute's advantage over his next nearest rivals, which he maintained through the third quickest transition of the day and the quickest run split (16mins 15secs).

Doherty cruised to victory in 29mins 23secs to claim the title.

Behind him, the battle was much closer, with less than a minute separating the top seven male athletes in the race.

Odrhán McKane led this group out of the water in 13mins 40secs followed by Dave Richardson, Ciaran Madden and Jack McCullough.

Once out on the run things began to separate - but not by much - as mere seconds made the difference over the 5km road run.

Jack McCullough, who left transition with a 10second deficit, ran his way through the field and in to second place thanks to the second quickest 17mins 33secs run split of the day.

Odhrán McKane claimed third place just 16secs later, edging out Luke McCarron by 2secs.


Women's Race

A very close women's race began with some extremely strong swimming from the top contenders. Best amongst them was Erin McConnell who came out of the water in a very impressive 12mins 41secs - right on the feet of the men's winner Con Doherty.

Second out of the water - and just 30secs adrift was Niamh Corry from Fingal TC followed by Aoife Fay (+46secs), Kirsten Huysamen (+64secs) and Elizabeth Carr (+65secs).

On the run, Corry put in a great performance to overtake McConnell and claim her first national title, finishing in 32mins 44secs. 

Aoife Fay edged out Elizabeth Carr by just 13secs to take second place in 32mins 58secs with the Two Provinces Super Series winner having to content herself with third place.

The incredibly tight margins in the women's race were illustrated by the fact that just 27secs separated the top three women on the finish line.

Results and Pictures

Provisional results from the Aquathlon Champs are available on this link.

A gallery of superb images from the day - including all the junior and kids races - is available on Triathlon Ireland's facebook page and on Martin Jancek's Flickr page.