Race Report: The National Aquathlon Champs at Bull Wall

The Base2Race Aquathlon Festival hosted this year's Aquathlon National Championships for junior, youth and age group athletes. Run by Pulse Triathlon Club, the course at Bull Wall for this year's National Aquathlon Championships rewarded exactly what it should - strong swimming and running. Coming out of the water from the 1000 metre swim, the terrain on the five kilometre beach run was tough on the legs from start to finish.

National Aquathlon Champs_Swim Exit

Walton leads from start to finish

Aquathlon Champs 2019_Men's Podium

James Walton led out of the water and onto the run, pushing hard on tired legs to keep a gap to second placed Sabian Kulczynski. After the race, Walton described racing for the second time in as many days;

"I was running and the legs were gone, the tide was coming in on the soft sand. Sabian was closing in pretty quick but lucky enough I had a big enough gap so I held on."

In the men's race the order remained the same from the swim to the finish line, with Limerick Triathlon Club's Luke Lyons crossing the line third to pick up the bronze championship medal.

Walsh takes first senior national championship title

Aquathlon Champs 2019_Womens Podium

In the women's race a group of three swimmers, containing Orla Walsh and junior athletes Lara McEvoy and Erin McConnell, lead out of the water and maintained on the run. Such was their lead after the swim that even the quickest run splits of the day, coming from Ciara Wilson and Elizabeth Carr, were unable to close the gap on the three leaders.

Speaking afterwards, Orla Walsh recapped her race;

"I tried to be swift in transition and I had a bit of struggle getting my shoes on but nothing too drastic. I just tried to take the first kilometre nice and controlled and just build it up and take it on on the way home."

 For full results from the event visit coretiming.ie.

National Aquathlon Champs 2019_T1

National Aquathlon Championships - Results

Senior National Aquathlon Championships
1. James Walton
2. Sabian Kulczynski
3. Luke Lyons

1. Orla Walsh
2. Lara McEvoy
3. Erin McConnell

Junior National Aquathlon Championships
1. Sabian Kulczynski
2. Justin O’Hagan
1. Lara McEvoy
2. Erin McConnell
3. Elia Tutty
Youth National Aquathlon Championships
1. Ralf Boademer
2. Brogan McAviney
3. Luke Burke
1. Olivia Moore
2. Francesca Walsh