National Sprint Champs 2017 - Deadline & Course Details

Women's Podium Derry

National Sprint Champs 2017 - Firmus City of Derry

The National Sprint Championships heads to Firmus City of Derry later this month for what has traditionally been a hotly contested day of racing.

Last year Derry hosted a draft legal Super Series race for the first time - won by Olympians Bryan Keane and Aileen Reid - and feedback from athletes was that the city centre course was among the most exciting and quickest that had featured in the series.

Bryan Keane Derry Finish

Firmus City of Derry 2017

This year's course mirrors last year's popular route with a 750m swim in the River Foyle, a 20km - two lap bike course that takes athletes across the river and along the fast, smooth A2; and an out-and-back 5km run course that includes the iconic Peace Bridge.

While the Super Series men's and women's races will decide the National Champions for 2017, there is also lots to strive for in the non-drafting race, as gold, silver and bronze Age Group medals will be contested throughout the field.

National Sprint Title

We'll be previewing both the men's and women's fields fully next week but already both races look stacked with top athletes. Past winners of the sprint distance championships read like a who's who of the best athletes in the country, with Gavin Noble, Ben Shaw, Con Doherty and James Edgar winning the last four men's titles; and Katie Cooke and Carolyn Hayes dominating the women's national titles. 

Entry Deadlines

Firmus City of Derry is the second stop in this year's Super Series and because it is a national champs additional points are on offer for all finishers.

The deadline for entries is 6pm on Wednesday 7th June - the race is open to Cat 1 and Cat 2 athletes.

Get your entry through the Race Calendar section of