2017 Reviewed - Aquathlon National Championships


National Championship racing returned to Westmeath in 2017, in the form of the National Aquathlon Championships. The race took place at Coosan's Point, near Athlone.

Con Doherty and Niamh Corry were the overall winners in two very different races.

Men's Race

National Aquathlon Champs 2017 Mens Podium

Con Doherty led from the beginning of the men's race, finishing the 1000m swim in 12mins 38secs and the race in 29mins 23secs - a minute ahead of his nearest rivals. Behind Doherty though, the battle was close, with just one minute separating the next six athletes. Jack McCullough finished in third with a very quick run split and Odhrán McKane squeezed into third place just two seconds ahead of Luke McCarron. 

Women's Race

Some very strong swimming in the women's race saw Erin McConnell emerge from the water right behind Con Doherty in 12mins 41. Eventual winner Niamh Corry was next out of the water and put in a super run to take a convincing victory in 32mins 44 secs. Aoife Fay and Elizabeth Carr both ran great run splits to take 2nd and third with only 27 secs separating the top three women. 

National Aquathlon Champs 2017 Womens Podium

The full race report for the National Aquathlon Championships 2017 can be read here.

Age Group Medallists

The Age Group Medals from the National Aquathlon Championships will be presented at the 2017 Triathlon Ireland Awards Night in the Gibson Hotel, Dublin. Tickets are selling fast - to get yours call the TI office on 01 2741032.

You can check the list below to see if you have won an age group medal in the National Aquathlon Championshps.

Award Winners 2017 Aquathlon Champs Pg 1

Award Winners 2017 Aquathlon Champs Pg 2

Award Winners 2017 Aquathlon Champs Pg 3